Dinner – 2/20/2012

Food.  I live to eat it.  I’m pretty sure my friends would say that a majority of their memories of me revolve around food.  That’s how much I like it.

Maybe it’s only natural, then, that the kitchen and the table most represent home and love shared with family.  My brother and I grew up helping our parents in the kitchen whenever we had a gathering of relatives, watching our parents create new dishes, sometimes experimenting and recreating dishes they had tasted recently.  Then, we all gathered around with aunts, uncles, and cousins, and ate… and told stories… and laughed… and stayed at the table long after the food was gone.

Back when I was in college and shortly afterwards, I (with or without roommates) enjoyed hosting Friday night gatherings during the summer for friends who stayed in Boston to work.  Those were good times.  We cooked together, sang together, occasionally watched movies together (“The Wizard of Oz” cued to Pink Floyd’s “Dark Side of the Moon”), ate together, and prayed together.  And we rested from our week of work.  I didn’t think about it then, but it was part of our Sabbath-keeping to gather as a community around a table.

All the believers devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching, and to fellowship, and to sharing in meals (including the Lord’s Supper), and to prayer. A deep sense of awe came over them all…. And all the believers met together in one place and shared everything they had…. They worshiped together at the Temple each day, met in homes for the Lord’s Supper, and shared their meals with great joy and generosity — all the while praising God and enjoying the goodwill of all the people. And each day the Lord added to their fellowship those who were being saved.  — Acts 2:42-47, parts

This is what I thought about as I cooked and ate dinner tonight: rest and renewal, Sabbath-keeping, creativity – and the artfulness and restfulness of food.

Dinner on 2/20/2012

Dinner on 2/20/2012
Hake Two Ways – Panko-Crusted & Jeon-Style
Red Wine Cabbage Hash
Brown Rice

This entry was posted in Food, Sabbath-Keeping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner – 2/20/2012

  1. sstone says:

    Wow, that looks great! I’m glad you wrote on this and you’re exploring it more. My favorite times of relaxing with you always, always involve food. (Though I would NEVER call you a foodie ;))

Leave a Reply

