Variations on a Theme – Home (6)

I saw this painting for the first time when my parents and I were on vacation in Puerto Rico in 2009.  In a room full of amazing paintings at the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico (MAPR), “Vida” kept drawing my eyes.  Strong geometric lines that somehow convey movement.  Brown, monochromatic color scheme that isn’t usually the color of “life.” Face in repose, but body alert and ready for motion.  An appearance of peacefulness, but a feeling of struggle.  I suppose life is like that.  And I suppose the search for home is like that, too.

Vida (1963)
by Augusto Marin (1921-2011)

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.  I am the good shepherd.  The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.  – Jesus, John 10:10-11

See more of Augusto Marin’s works here: Fundacion de las Artes Augusto Marin

The wordy reflection on “home” here: Reflections on Home

This entry was posted in Art, Clinical Pastoral Education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

