Table 1280 and ASO

This was the beginning of my Sabbath this week (Friday night): a quick bite with wine at Table 1280, then an Atlanta Symphony Orchestra concert.

One of my favorite things to eat is mussels, especially ones in non-tomato-based broth. Table 1280 serves “Snug Harbor Mussels” in a broth of chorizo, saffron, anisette, and parsley butter; there is ample bread to dip into the broth, but they also bring a spoon:

.

The flavors are subtle at first bite, but a good wine pairing helps. I went with a Sonoma-Cutrer Chardonnay (possibly 2009, forgot to write that one down).  My usual preference for Chardonnays is stainless steel aging, but I’ve also learned that I like the butteriness that comes with 10-15% oak aging.  The Sonoma-Cutrer (again, note to self, next time note which wine it was exactly)  had a good mix of crisp and buttery. The wine helped the food.  The food made the wine taste a bit acidic.

.

.
As I ate, I piled the mussel shells just so on a side plate, so that they wouldn’t fall off and would all fit.  Afterwards, it felt like I had created a bit of “art.” Maybe one day, I will create something with mussel shells for my Sabbath day practice.

But for yesterday, it was on to the ASO, Roberto Abbado conducting:

  • The Comedians, Opus 26 (1940) by Dmitry Kabalevsky
  • Serenade for Strings in C Major, Opus 48 (1880) by Peter Tchaikovsky
  • Concerto No. 3 in D Minor for Piano and Orchestra, Opus 30 (1909) by Sergei Rachmaninov – Yuja Wang, Piano

Yuja Wang made the piano concerto look easy despite its complexity, and she even played an encore, which also showcased her technical ability.  But my favorite for the evening was the first movement of Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings, below:

This entry was posted in Art, Food, Sabbath-Keeping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

