Sabbath by Pinterest: Pickling Onions

Recently, I came into a 25 lb. bag of Vidalia Onions.  I like onions, but not enough to eat Vidalia Onions like apples as some people reportedly do, and given enough time, they are likely to start sprouting and growing, so I gave about half the bag away while they were still fresh.  That still left me with about 12 lb. of onions.  What to do… what to do?

A while back, I’d pinned onto one of my “Recipes” bulletin boards a quick pickling recipe. Given my onion situation, I decided pickling onions might be a good idea for this Sabbath day.  I gathered these materials to do my pickling project today:

cleaned, washed, and cut

.
1.5 large Vidalia onions
1 small radish

1 cup water
1 cup white vinegar
splash lemon juice
2 tsp minced garlic
20 whole black peppercorns
2 pinches mustard seed
1 bay leaf

I didn’t add any sugar, because Vidalias are naturally pretty sweet. I added the minced garlic, because… I’m Korean. I kept things pretty simple this first time pickling anything.

.
.

off the heat and soaking in the pickling liquid

.

  • I cleaned and cut the onions and radish. I added everything from the water to the bay leaf into a pot and brought the mixture to a boil.
  • Once the mixture was boiling, I turned off the heat, and added in the onions and radish.
  • After 20 minutes, I transferred everything to a Ball jar.
  • The pickled onions and radish are sitting overnight in the refrigerator.

.

.. 

In the meantime, I used more of the onions and a half tomato to dress up a box of Annie’s Shells and White Cheddar mac & cheese. 

mac & cheese with onions and tomato

A simple Sabbath-day dinner of mac & cheese with a glass of 2009 Mas des Dames, a nice rosé with Grenache (40%), Mourvèdre (40%), and Syrah (20%):

wine and mac & cheese dinner

This entry was posted in Food, Sabbath by Pinterest, Sabbath-Keeping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sabbath by Pinterest: Pickling Onions

  1. Ann says:

    I fondly remember that mac & cheese recipe. Sounds like a good way to spend the evening.

Leave a Reply

